Posted by: mlawrencekey | January 22, 2009

Yes We Can

buttonThe day before yesterday was an amazing, emotional day for me. As I watched video of the inauguration via the internet (I don’t have satellite TV by choice), sitting huddled with my wife and kids on our couch, I found myself weeping. My tears were tears of joy, for seeing the fulfillment of a dream long withheld from a vast segment of American society finally coming to pass. But more than the racial significance, the inauguration of Obama signified another sort of change for me–a change towards greater inclusion of the average American in the processes of government, a change towards inclusion and away from “us vs. them” in many arenas. I saw the beginning of a radical but needed shift yesterday towards creation care and away from exploitation of our God-given resources. I saw a shift away from war as the first choice and towards diplomacy and respect, with military action as a last choice. I saw a commitment towards transparency in government and a hopeful renewal of government service as just that–a service to the people of America, not an opportunity to line your pockets. There’s a lot more I could say, but my friend Cricket in Berlin summed it up better than I could in a recent post

I don’t have any wool pulled over my eyes. I fully intend to keep this president under my scrutiny. I voted for him and that’s part of my responsibility. I know he’s not the messiah, and I know he’s just a man, a man with self-admitted failings. I don’t agree with him on everything, either, and I sincerely hope that he will listen to the patient, persuasive words of those who differ with him and truly take those things into consideration. No matter what, I will pray for him, because I know the burdens he will carry will be great. 

May God be with Barack Obama, and may God bless America. I’m proud to be an American.

Leave a Reply

Categories

