Posted by: mlawrencekey | April 10, 2009

oneword.com: A Writing Exercise for Busy People

oneword

I don’t remember when I discovered oneword.com, but it’s one of those writing-oriented sites that I go back to again and again. The idea is so simple, it’s genius: when you first enter the site, you see a short explanation, and a “Go” button. When you press the button, a word comes up with a blank area below. You have one minute to write whatever comes to mind based on the word for that day. When your time’s up, the timer beeps at you and you’re then invited to join the throngs of other writers by entering your name and email then sending your masterpiece to oneword’s archives. That’s it. (Well, not quite: you can also buy some cool t-shirts and caps from the site’s CaféPress site). I use it as a way to start my writing day. Gets the creative  side of my brain limbered up, and because it’s only one minute, it doesn’t take a huge chunk out of my day. No matter what kind of writer you are, I recommend you try it. It’ll only take a minute. 

go

Responses

  1. This is a great idea for jump starting writer’s block… I checked it out.. my word was “shade” . Thanks!

  2. No problem. Anything to help.

  3. […] June 13, 2010 oneword.com: A Writing Exercise for Busy People (via M. Lawrence in Arabia) Posted by adam75241 under Uncategorized Leave a Comment I don’t remember when I discovered oneword.com, but it’s one of those writing-oriented sites that I go back to again and again. The idea is so simple, it’s genius: when you first enter the site, you see a short explanation, and a “Go” button. When you press the button, a word comes up with a blank area below. You have one minute to write whatever comes to mind based on the word for that day. When your time’s up, the timer beeps at you and you’re … Read More […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

