Posted by: mlawrencekey | May 12, 2009

Composing in the Shower

showerideaI don’t know what it is about a hot shower, but it’s one of my favorite places on earth to unwind. As the warm water cascades over my head, shoulders and face, I begin to relax. If I’m in there long enough, my mind begins to loosen up, and my creative mind starts clicking. My thoughts move towards the plot and characters of whatever story I’m working on and I begin to let my imagination go to work. Without a keyboard in front of me, the pressure’s off and I can just enjoy the creative process. I think I’ve composed at least some part of most of my short stories in the shower or in a warm bath. The bath has the added advantage of my being able to immediately write down what I’m thinking, whereas in the shower, I have to depend on my memory to guide me later on when I actually sit down to work on what I’ve composed. Either way, I find spending time this way helps me immensely as an artist. When I’m absolutely relaxed and at ease, the thoughts that come feel natural and alive, translating to some of my best prose later on.

Leave a Reply

Categories

