Posted by: mlawrencekey | November 5, 2010

This was going to be about NaNoWriMo…

…I kind of thought I might try to do NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) this year. After all, I’m in the States, away from my regular work. Seems like a perfect opportunity, right? Well, I don’t think I counted on being as busy as I’ve been this year. My days are really hard to predict right now, and there’s an even more important reason: I’m writing a book. Not a novel, but another non-fiction piece based on actual events but told in a novel-like style. So why don’t I just enter that in NaNoWriMo? My main problem: research. The research necessary for writing this book is barely started and November is already about a week gone. So, I’m not optimistic about how much I’ll get done writing-wise during November because I’m waiting on the results of interviews and combing through material. Next month…maybe. If I have any free time, I’d like to do some fiction writing, but I’m not going to hold my breath.

I do, however, plan on participating in NaBloPoMo (National Blog Post Month), which just means I’m going to try to blog every day this month. Last time I did this during November, a couple of years ago, it was a great writing exercise and it increased my blog’s visibility, which is generally a good thing. Expect shorter posts from me, probably a bunch without pictures, but more of them. And I’d like to continue this on into December and beyond, God willing.

Leave a Reply

Categories

