Posted by: mlawrencekey | February 25, 2011

Review: Battlefield Earth

Battlefield EarthBattlefield Earth by L. Ron Hubbard
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Okay I know that everyone except for Scientologists think that this is supposed to be crap, but it’s actually pretty decent, for pulp sci-fi. It’s not Anna Karenina, but so what? I thought it was a pretty interesting adventure yarn (though a bit long winded). The movie, on the other hand, is another story…

Admittedly, the novel has some inconsistencies and logic problems, but when I first read it, I didn’t know much of anything at all about L. Ron Hubbard or Scientology, so I was able to approach the story on its own merits. All in all, although it could have used some editing, I felt the story held together well and it held my interest all the way to the end. So that’s saying something. It’s pulp fiction, on a level perhaps with some of Burroughs’ Barsoom works. In other words, just mindless fun and adventure, not to be analyzed too deeply. I enjoyed it back when I read it as a guilty pleasure, and I’d probably read it again if someone gave me a copy.

So sue me.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

Categories

