Posted by: mlawrencekey | March 30, 2011

Review: Veracity

VeracityVeracity by Mark Lavorato
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A strange post-apocalyptic book which explores the nature of humanity, as told through the eyes of the leader of an expedition sent to wipe out all of humanity’s last traces. Parts of it feel like "Lord of the Flies," and its philosophy and underlying assumptions were disturbing, to say the least. I’ll admit I found it to be pretty depressing, overall, though there were brief glimpses of hope here and there.

The prose was decent, but not great. I think it was Lavorato’s first novel, so he can be forgiven for that much. I did enjoy sections of the novel, particularly a few encounters with an elusive primate known as "the Creature," as well as the protagonist’s relationship with the raven. Overall, however, the characters felt unreal somehow, and I felt little real connection with or understanding of any of them.

I might be interested in some of Lavorato’s more recent works, as he certainly showed a lot of promise in this one, but I can’t recommend "Veracity."

View all my reviews

Responses

  1. […] More: Review: Veracity « M. Lawrence in Arabia […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

