Posted by: mlawrencekey | August 21, 2012

Review: Speaker for the Dead

Speaker for the Dead
Speaker for the Dead by Orson Scott Card
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Good but not great.

Speaker for the Dead is a continuation of the story of Ender Wiggins, now Speaker for the Dead, a quasi-religious vocation which involves going to various locations and telling the very honest life story of someone who has just died as they would have wanted it told, no holds barred.

He is called to a small colony world which was colonized by Catholics and is also inhabited by another enigmatic aboriginal race called the Piggies. Ender, along with help from local anthropologists and an AI called Jane, is able to solve a possible murder mystery and avert a galactic crisis, all while finding peace for himself and his own tortured past.

I found the story somewhat interesting, but not engrossing. I think that Ender and the other characters felt so foreign to me that it was hard to really enter much into their world and who they are as real people. Even Ender’s Game, which was extremely well-written, struck me this way.

Would I recommend it to others? I wouldn’t go out of my way to do so. It was a somewhat enjoyable read, but I doubt I’ll be foisting it on anyone else.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

Categories

